Henderson, Texas | Monday, November 2, 2026
Independent. Not affiliated with any public body or newspaper.

HEDCO’s Performance Agreements: Every Deal, One Place

Published November 2, 2026
The short version
We found 14 performance agreements and incentives in HEDCO’s public record since 2021, and the terms of most are nowhere to be found. Here is every one we can report so far, with what was promised and what the public can’t yet see.

HEDCO spends Henderson’s economic development sales tax partly through performance agreements: contracts where it puts up money, land or site work and a business promises investment and jobs in return. We went through every HEDCO agenda, financial report and council recording we have, from October 2023 through October 2026, and found 14 of them. For most, the signed agreement is not in the public record.

Most of these deals sound like good uses of the money: a local plant expanding, a preschool keeping its teachers, new homes, a new store. The problem is that residents can’t check them. The amounts, the promises and the proof are mostly missing from the public record. Each story below lays out what is known and what HEDCO could publish to fix that.

Every agreement we found

RecipientWhat HEDCO puts inPromised in returnCouncil vote
Sadler Powder Coating$35,000 paid in 2025-26; final payment in 2027Jobs for 24 monthsNov. 18, 2025
Bane Investment HoldingsNot statedKeep the Railroad Commission office in townNov. 18, 2025
Velvin OilIndustrial park landAbout $5 million; about 15 jobs at $20+Jan. 20, 2026
Wiseman / Gifts of Grace$50,000 a year for 3 yearsNew store; about $40,000 a year in sales taxNov. 18, 2025
First Methodist PreschoolAbout $32,500 (half a retaining wall)Keep 30 to 35 teachers for 5 yearsNov. 18, 2025
Henderson Civic Center$50,000None statedNov. 18, 2025
Boys Baseball AssociationNot statedNot statedNov. 18, 2025
Brasso Development$300,000 site work plus 9 acresAbout 24 homes around $250,000 to $280,000Nov. 18, 2025
“FMC”$35,750 paid, unbudgetedUnknownNot found
Scout Crossing$99,000, then $44,320 unbudgetedUnknownNot found
Henderson Canvas Products$30,000 forgivable loan (2021)6 jobsNot found
Atwoods6.99 acres plus road, sewer and water workNot publicNot found
Two more agreements approved by HEDCO in fall 2026Coming in a later story

What ties them together

  • The terms aren’t public. For most of these agreements, we could not find the signed contract in any public record.
  • Seven in one night. The City Council approved seven agreements in a row on November 18, 2025, most after a short presentation.
  • No proof of jobs. None of the records we hold shows HEDCO checking whether promised jobs or investment happened.
  • Money paid without a budget. At least three agreements were paid from lines budgeted at zero in 2025-26.

Our ask

One page that would fix most of this

HEDCO could post a single public list of every active agreement: the recipient, the signed agreement, the amount committed and paid, the jobs and investment promised, and the latest verification. State law makes the City Council responsible for approving HEDCO’s programs and spending (Local Government Code 501.073), so the council could require it.

Sources: HEDCO agendas, October 2023 through July 2026; HEDCO financial reports through March 31 and August 31, 2026; HEDCO minutes printed in the September 17 and October 20, 2026 City Council packets; Henderson City Council meeting recordings for November 18, 2025, January 20, 2026 and February 17, 2026; HEDCO notice of projects for fiscal year 2025-26. Each linked story lists its own sources.

Corrections

If anything in this story is wrong, we will correct it here and note the change on our Corrections page. Public bodies we cover can send a response, and we publish it in full.